There are two types of laws: just and unjust. Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and, even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust laws. - GRE Issue 11

The speaker mentions about the two types of law as just and unjust laws. I don`t think we can categorize law as just and unjust as it seems too extreme . The illustration of my disagreement is cited in following paragraphs.

To begin with, lets talk about abortion. Some people take abortion as a unjust laws and prohibit abortion. In case of emergency situation too, people aren`t ready to abort as they thinks that they would commit a crime. And in some community and cultural practices, its taken as just law. People are free to abort without any feeling of being culprit.

So, law can never be categorized to just and unjust as every culture doesn`t justifies this as mandate.

Secondly, we can see that many industries are into operation and the reminants and residue they emit has malignant effects on the environment. The industries seems to be doing unjust to the laws regarding deteriorating environment. And talking about doing just to the laws, the industries have to install a high advancement in purifying the malignant residue that deteriorate the environment. On doing so , the cost of maintainance and manufacturing cost becomes so high that the cost of the product becomes high. Moreover, people can`t afford the price and the industries can`t run properly as the revenue can`t be collected as per their investment. So, in this case too, every just laws don`t give that just results.

On the contrary, not all laws are too extreme as the laws are made for everyone`s welfare considering every pros and cons`s sides so that the people with power can`t take over the weak people and the rich can`t dominate the poor one`s. In case of the tax payment, the law seem to be just. As we know that the development work in the country are possible only if the country has enough money and the money comes if people pay tax. So, in this case , the law becomes just.

In sum, we can`t categorize the law as just and unjust.