There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better

health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in

the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers

than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only

one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of

physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville

residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest

that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small

communities.

In the article, the author describes a study concerning the relaxed pace of live in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. The reason why the author got this result is that businesses report fewer days of sick by workers in small town than big cities, Leeville has only one physician contrast to five physicians in Masonton, the average age of Leeville residents is higher than big cities. The reasoning of this argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's recommendation.

First of all, the author believe that workers in the small town of Leeville are reported fewer days of sick than workers in the nearby large cities, hence people who live in small towns possess longer and healthier live style. However, this assumption is potentially problematic. For example, if workers who working in Leeville rarely take time off because they do not want to deduct wages and do not want to affect performance, so they may stick to work even when they are sick. If either of the previous scenarios turns out to be true, then the assumption is disproved and the suggestion is unreasonable.

In addition, the author thinks that people in small town are healthier because there is only one doctor for a thousand people. However, it is unreasonable to assume that. If the town does not have the money to hire more doctors, or if people do not go to the doctor even they are sick, they would take medicine to cure the illness, they may also go to the big city to see doctors since they can offer more careful check.If either of these circumstances proves to be true, then there is reason to doubt the validity of the longevity of the residents in small towns.

Finally, the average age of Leville residents is higher than that of big city residents so that the author come to the conclusion that the people who live in small communities will live longer than nearby cities. The author's argument suffers from a questionable assumption which generalizes the fact that people are living longer in Leeville suggest that they will have a healthier lifestyle. However, the author's argument is unconvincing.If the longer ages of people who live in small towns may come from big cities for the reason that they come to the rural to enjoy a quite life. Then the recommendation may not be enacted.

Consequently, while the author's suggestion appears appealing, the questionable assumption discussed above may deprive it of its feasibility.