The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Art is an evidence to prove that man can create many masterpieces which differentiates him from any living being.There are various forms of arts where artists are worshipped for their greatness of work in that specific art. And it is very much obvious that the greatness of any form of art is recognized only when it is understood by masses.

The art has to be clear and easy to be understood by masses. It helps the artist to gain recognition for his work. After all,recognition and appreciation help the artists to create more number of masterpieces.Any art need to be presented in a way that the whole idea reaches people easily. That has to be the main criteria for an artist.

Also,art often depicts some story and telltales certain issue. It mostly presents specific idea.For example the great painter Ravi Varma who is quite famous for his paintings always present his art with clear view. He is the first person to put down the visual image of mythological figures. They are readily accepted by the masses since they are very easy to understand. There are many more painters like Leonardo Da Vinci and so on who are simple at expressing their art but received maximum appreciation.

Of course, there are some painters who are well known for abstract painting which doesn't have any meaning in them, but also appreciated equally. But it is always the art which touches the hearts of masses which is more catholic.

To sum up,art has to be something which is very pristine and easy to understand by masses. Then only it gains maximum recognition and artist wanes his creativity confidently with the help of appreciation he gets from masses.