Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

There is no real excellence in life. Instead, there are different ways that can be taken based on the people’s desire and what would be more beneficial for them. The prompt says no need for an undergraduate student to study Humanities if they are willing to study science or business. I strongly agree with this standpoint; as a student who wants to study any field is fare away from Humanities will be keener on studying what is closest to his major. The following essay will provide more reasons for the student’s point of view.

If we look at the humanities courses, we will find different aspects, such as history, social science and literature. Not all undergraduate students will be interested in these scops of Humanities course. For example, if a student wants to specialize in science for being a scientific researcher or clinical researcher, in this case, he will not be zealous to study history and what were the most accomplishments for some people in the history such as Shakespeare or Beethoven. On the other hand, this student will be eager to invest the undergraduate time in his desirable major in science by studying Clinical trails, Physiology, and Epidemiology. Thus, although Humanities contains courses and some different disciplines could benefit students somehow, but it should not be compulsory in the curriculum to does not contribute to creating an enormous burden on the students’ shoulders.

Further, If Humanities became a part of the curriculum and the students have been asked to complete specific hours to get grades for graduation; students who will not major in any relevant field will weakly do in the Humanities subjects. This because they will not be interested in such courses and as corollary will not get the requisite marks which required for their graduation. Quite the opposite will happen with those who willing to major in filed somehow related to Humanities courses. Therefore, by adding this course as an essential part of the curriculum will cause encumbrance on some students rather than others; that means will benefit some more than others and consequently will not achieve the desired effect.

In conclusion, students in their undergraduate period should be free in choosing what they willing and interested in, to be prepared for their future careers and adding Humanities or such courses which are not related to their interests will not avail them as much as if they study and invest this crucial time in shaping their path by studying what is more involved in their major.