To understand the important characteristics of a society, is it enough to simply study its major cities ? Agree or disagree

“God made the country and man made the town”, the mentioned quote helps us understand the origin of human society. The prompt states that to learn about the features of a society you need to learn the major cities. I disagree with the statement and argue that rural areas have a more remarkable role in depicting the characteristics of society.

Major cities, in this up-to-date world, have proven to be developed in terms of finance, politics, infrastructure, and education sectors and also have been able to touch international grounds by their innovations, but they have remolded the true essence of culture and tradition of their society. The standard of living in the cities is poles apart from that of the countryside. The cities now have migrants from different parts of the world that have appended their values to the cities. They, therefore, show an amalgam of various cultures and traditions.

On the other hand, the countryside has a preserved lifestyle of its own. These societies have homogeneity in terms of people, profession, language, dressing style, and food. The outlook of the people remains the same due to less exposure to the outside world and so they abide by their principles. To truly understand the characteristics of a society you need to know it from the people who worship it themselves.

For example, India has over 70 percent of the population living in minor towns or villages. These small towns bear to the substantial number of historic events that hold great importance. Researchers studying India’s heritage and culture will prefer going to Agra, Jaisalmer, or Jodhpur instead of acquiring that from the fast-paced cities like Mumbai, Pune, or Bangalore. These cities show faint traces of their society's characteristics although although it is usually overshadowed by the modern ones.

Another example to prove my argument would be that of France. Paris has been regarded as the fashion capital of the world and is home to accomplish fashion designers and artists of varied fields of design, but it does not show what France is all about. Apart from the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France has widespread vineyards, the cheese factories, the perfume industry, the island of Corsica. One cannot learn French society by learning about its capital city Paris.capital city,

Of course, one would argue the city being economically and socially more developed than the small towns hold more weightage towards the characteristics of a society they are living in, but those are adulterated versions of the veracious one. Hence to perceive a society's definite characteristics, one must learn that from the countryside rather than a developed city.