To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Human society development takes at least several years; sometime it required hundred years or more. People build their homeland and breed the offspring. Gradually, the society builds and it conflate culture and several local knowledge. No matter in the hub city or under development country’s village, whether in New York or Miaoli (a remote town in Taiwan), society are formed by our input and transforming by time.

City carries many society characteristics. By the density living residence, we can know the way they communicating to each other. We can test what is the best cuisine in their culture and we can observe the ambience of society. For instance, in the East Asia, Tokyo and Taipei are distinctively. Tokyo’s resident have faster pace and people usually very polite. When you live or work at there, usually you can feel an anxiety because of heavy workload or tiny living area. And as everyone knows, Japanese people love sushi. On another hand, Taipei is subtropical capital. People are talking to each other louder than Japanese and most of foreigner describe Taipei is an easygoing city. Due to its higher average temperature, cold drink vendors are everywhere.

However, city cannot stand for all the figures of society. Many orthodox society habits only can be found in rural village. The place resident are farming and grazing for survival. They follow their ancestor’s way to live, to eat and to breed. Take cuisine for example, the tradition way of cook, like using earth oven, only remaining in the rural village. Although such a maneuver takes several hours to prepare a meal, the taste is distinctive from the fast food. Same as culinary, the understanding and the value are wide parted from their city relative, and either the concept of society. Overlook the countryside society will not have overall understanding of a society.

In addition, urban environment usually removes their tradition society characters in order to adjust for commercialization and globalization. This means the urban dweller have to fit in their busy and hustle life style. People have to finish their meal fast because usually they have only one-hour lunch break. Many city dwellers are forced living restrict space because of exorbitant house price. High-speed online chat replaces old-fashion visiting or mailing. The society in urban area adapts the modern challenge. Lots of culture characteristics no longer able to be found in the city area.

For conclusion, neither city nor village can give to complete picture of society. Although city show you a lot of angles about a society, rural country sometime preserve more information about their culture. The best way to understand a society need to observe from many subject, from the food, behavior, language and etc. No single aspect can provide whole idea about a society.