To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The issue suggests that study of the major city is must in order to understand the important characteristics of a society. Major cities are the places where people from the region come and live, so they can be the epitome the culture of the region. I agree that study of major cities is must to understand important characteristics of a society. However, it can not be the only the resource or sometimes it may also mitigate against the important characteristics of a society.

Due to technological advancements in communication and transportation the world is uniting. People now travel or migrate to distant cities more than previosly. This results into major cities becoming cosmopolitan. People found in this cities actually may have migrated from somewhere far from the region. This people may not reflect the important characteristics of a society. This is evident is cities like Mumbai where people from all over the india come and live. Here onecan find people, food, traditions from all diverse part of india. Study of these may actually reveal a little about important characteristics of a society.

However, a study of the musems and historical places of major cities reveal history and tradtitions of locals. Areas of these cities where there is majority of population is locals or old areas can be a very good resource to understand important characteristics of a society. Cities were formed when people from nearby region migrated to a central place for trade or other reasons. And hence cities are places where people from surrounding areas can be found at one place. This facilitates the study of important characteristics of a society.

However, cities are not the only place where important characteristics of a society can be found. To understand the society thoroughly one needs a comprhensive study of entire region. Traditions and rituals may have vanished in cities but can still be followed in rural areas. Many places of historical importance can be outside of major cities.

Concluding, cities can serve as a great way of studying important characteristics of a society, if properly studied. However, only study of cities is inadeqate and more comprehensive study of the region is needed.