To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our society is made up of urban localities and rural localities. To completely disregard one in favour of another would be an incorrect stance to take in this argument as one must understand that both are two sides of the same coin.

In this day and age, major cities are harbingers of change. A trend or change that births in a city may rapidly spread across an entire region, courtesy of the myriad number of people who inhabit it and the technology we have at our disposal. People from all walks of life share the same space. This allows for fusion of cultures, values, and ethics in ways which would not have been possible otherwise. Thus, cities act as trendsetters. Slowly and steadily, cities instil in society values that resonate in the various people that inhabit it. It can be said with assurance that many important characteristics of a society are defined in cities.

However, we should not ignore the fact that the rural areas do not play a significant part in defining our society. The way of life prevalent in cities may not be prevalent there but it is still a way of life that adds to society. It has begun to play a more significant role as urbanisation has begun to take place on a scale greater than before. Those from towns and villages are flocking to cities, taking with them, along with their materialistic possessions, ideas and values which over a period of time infuse with the existing set and redefine society as a whole.

Both ways of life play an integral role in defining our society as a whole. To truly understand the important characteristics of society and what defines and redefines our society as we know it, one must study the people that inhabit it, irrespective of where they decide to call home.