To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Nowadays, everyone is moving to cities from villages for various reasons such as for good career opportunities, for living and working purpose and many more. So globalization has occured a lot over a last few years. So, if one wants to understand the characteristics of a society at present time, he/she can not simply rely on studying of society's cities. Rather, villages are those places where old culture and traditions are still relatively preserved. So, by only visiting big cities and determine the characteristics of society is not the proper way to truly understand everything about society.

Over the time, due to technological advancements and development in every field, big cities such as New York, London, Paris which are cities of developed country's and Bombay, Bengaluru which are of developing country like India have progressed a lot. Owing to this, these cities have the amalgamation of people from different areas of the world. For instance, today New York is called cosmopolitan city because different origins of people like Indians, Chineses, Japaneses are coming to New York every year to study, work, and to settle over there. So, one can not give judgements for characteristics of a society of New York. Even Paris is a hub of fashion, so designers from all over the world having different origins come to live there. So, it will give misleading results if cities are only considered.

Secondly, even today, 70 percent of people in India live in rural areas. Country-sides are those places where characteristics of society is not diluted. Therefore, villages plays an important roles in determining the genuine things about societies. Because, globalization has not taken its place much in villages as compared to cities.

In conclusion, on account of great development worldwide, cities can not be taken into account to understand the characteristics of any civilization, it is the villages that are without any doubt will give true insights about the characterisics of a society.