To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities play a bigger role in forming a country, but a country like the United States has of major cities that are flooded with immigrants, students, workers from all over the world, carrying different cultures or religions. With so many diverse cultures its hard to tell what the true characteristics of that society would be like, considering so many religions are being practiced in the same city.

Not only is there a variety in religions, but there is a lot of modifications in the way a religion is followed. A religion may be divided into different sects, with each sect practicing the religion that is molded according to their ease. These practices also vary from group to group, and then there comes extremists.

Also, a city does not have one social class, it ranges from upper, middle and lower categories. Each class runs by different rules. Lower class may retain their culture and values but as we move up a class, we see those values getting lost. This change is not just in the upper class but the lower uneducated part of the city a well. They believe in superstitions. These superstitions then become a part of the society, hence defining its characteristics. Though, the upper class tends to become so modern that as the generation progresses, they become lenient with their cultural values that they get long forgotten.

Another misconception is spread by the media. Media stereotypes the values and characteristics of a society or culture to the extent that people start believing and behaving that way. Whereas that illustration of a society is nowhere near to reality. Media does also typecast the way of living of a certain class of a society that people fall for and try to become a part of it, which is not attainable. Thus, losing the originality.

Even if we dig deeper, research explore to find out the characteristics of the society, there is not way to tell the authenticity of those characteristics.