To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. It's a complex statement because it has both assenting and dissenting viewpoint. But considering both sides it is very hard to support the statement. I think, by studying the major cities one could not understand all the important characteristics of a society.

Firstly, Society means a group of people bearing same culture or sharing same geographical territory. Society does not only mean a group of people living in major cities. So it is very naive to think that one should understand the entire culture of a society by knowing its major cities. Nowadays, people living in cities are adapting themselves with modern lifestyle and do not follow their traditions or culture all the time rather become comfortable with the modern life. In contrast, village people and their culture are not changed much compare to the original culture of the society. In this case we can say village people bear their culture more coherently than urban people. So it is not sufficient to study only about major cities for understanding the important characteristics of a society.

Secondly, People living in cities can not maintain all their traditional cultural activities because of their busy city life. They usually tried to do cultural activity on different occasions. As a result children who born and raise in cities are only know their culture theoretically rather practically experienced them. The traditional dress of bangladesh is lungi for men and shari for women but one will not see a men in dhaka city roaming around wearing lungi rather than shirt and pant. In contrast, if you go to a village of bangladesh you will often see men wearing a lungi. So if one try to know about the traditional dress of bangladesh and judged it by surveying dhaka city he will surely misguided and think shirt,and pants are the traditional dress of bangladeshi people.

Considering all the phenomenon above, it is easily inferred that major cities are not always bear its important and core traditions. So it will be very naive to think that one could easily understand important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities.