To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Major cities of a society are the developed structures of the society according to the present day. To understand the society at date is not that easy by just studying the major cities, as it has diversity in its cultures due to many people getting settled in the city for various reasons like education requirements etc. this makes the city to have wide range of people of different cultures. The main characteristics of a society are to be seen in the rural areas than the urban, in the unseen places than the popular once.

Adding to it, it also depends on the society range whether it is a society consisting of just 3 cities or a society having 40 cities in it, for a society have just 2 or 3 cities it doesn’t make much difference as to which city is being studied, even if it is a major one it doesn’t matter.

Building up, today's major cities are said to be the hubs of many resources and the hubs of many technologies for example, Hyderabad is said to be one of the greatest IT hub and which is one of the major city of Telangana, that doesn’t mean that the whole society is good at it, it has many technologies coming up as being one of the major cities and a great source for the students and professionals to study and work at. This is one of the attributes of a major city which others don’t have.

Besides these limitations it can also be said that, when a major city is located for example at a coastal area it has to adopt to the coastal culture, like fishery and their usage of water resources etc. this might not be the case with the whole society as they have their own limitations regarding these issues. By seeing this one can’t just infer the information about the society, which might turn out to be irrelevant.

In conclusion, it is not just the major cities that reflect the society, it is more of the other cities which actually reflect the society. In order to study about a society one needs to go up to its roots to have a good understanding of it