Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The argument seems plausible at the first glance but lacks a stand to defend its say! Though the author mentioned the richness of vitamin D and calcium in dairy products, he has made his conclusion based on a long-term study which is not properly supported. The evidences do not seem sufficient to know the argument, nevertheless to study the argument further we need to get into the detail of the authors assertion.

Firstly, the author states osteoporosis is linked to genetic and environment whose effects inevitable, vitamin D can help only in prevention of the disease. The facts about the dairy products as to how many years you are supposed to use and how many times a day and other factors of such kind haven’t been discussed by the author. Author simply states that vitamin D prevents osteoporosis. As this happens significantly by age it depends on each individual as to what have they done throughout their lives to keep their bones healthy. Few might have done a lot of physical work throughout and by just consuming dairy products there is going to be no much difference, though dairy products are rich in calcium and vitamin D.

Secondly, author talks about the long term study that has been done where the conclusion made is people consuming dairy products consistently have higher rate of bone fractures. This statement seems falsified the reason being a bone fractures can happen cause of anything not just weak bones. They might be people who have met with road accidents etc. there are many reasons for it and not just weak bones.

Finally, the author says bone fractures are symptomatic to osteoporosis and hence the people are prone to osteoporosis. Here the author neglects the fact that osteoporosis might have many other symptoms further, it does not prove that dairy supplements lack vitamin D and calcium but the consumers are also lacking in various other factors which might have an impact on a person’s bones.

To conclude, there might be many reasons for a person’s weak bone status and that do not directly imply that dairy supplements have a negative effect rather than positive. The author had made an argument which is not well supported and we need many other factors into consideration in order to evaluate the argument.