To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society must have lots of characteristics and the most of the characteristics are in the major cities, such as economy and politic. However, there have other characteristics that can not be study in major cities, like the culture and history. Therefore, I believe that to understand the major important characteristics should both study in major cities and the countryside.

First of all, the characteristic of the society in major cities is economy. Most of the major cities are also the urban area and the downtown. Having the high density of the buildings and lots of shopping mall and commercial stores. For example, Taipei is the capital in Taiwan, also the city which earn the most money. The economy here is having the high relative and represent to the whole country. To having the thorough research in the economy of the country, the major city is a better choice.

Second, the characteristic of the society in major cities is the government. The government always locates in the center of the major city. Having the debate of the important policies and sometimes have some protest which reflect the government attitude and the wills of the citizens. For example, the Sun Flower Movements, the protest which led by the students, was happened in the Taipei city. Therefore, the people who want to receive the most comprehensive information about the government in Taiwan should study in Taipei.

Still, some characteristics can not be found in the major cities. Take the history as an example, the history site in the major cities are abandoned in order to construct buildings which could bring the profits. On the other hand, the rural area would remain the site, because of the people in rural area have the conventional concept which would make them to protect the site. For example, in Taiwan, the most important ancient temple is in Miaoli which is the countryside of the country. People there protect the site and reject the government to destruct the temple, because they want to keep praying in that temple. The countryside also have the characteristics of the society which could study.

To conclude, both the major cities and the countryside of the country could provide one’s to study the most important characteristics of a society.