Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The budget of the government are limited and the use of the bedget is a critically important problem for the government. There is a hot debate on whether the government should spend more money on arts than sport or not. In my opinion, I agree with this statement. It makes me feel this way by having two main reasons which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, more people focus on sports rather than arts. To be more specific, the government should spend more money on appealing people to pay attention on art activities. For example, my friend, Judy, is major in art in her colloege. She said that their art events are always lack of people. No one know that there have a art exhibition in gallery, because people are just focusing on other things, such as sport competitions or music concerts. To solve this problem, the government should put more money in art field to help artists advertising their art works,such as building more galleries or hold art contests to improve citizen's awarness of art.

Secondly, due to lots of people focusing on sport events, athletics might have more companies want to sponsor them. In contrast, companies don't want to sponsor artists because few people focus in arts. Therefore, companies can not recieve any benefits or increase their products selling. In this case, the burden of the artists might be significant. They should afford all the stuffs by themselves. If the government doesn't spend more money in support of the arts, lots of artists will have finance difficulties to create their masterpieces. At last, arts will disappear in our culture.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should spent more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. This is because people pay more attention on sport events rather than arts , governmet should raise public awarness of art. Also, artists need to afford all the cost because there doesn't have any company wants to sponsor them.