Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership

Leadership is not merely a skill but also a way of living. Leadership is a art which helps one to gauge his actions and thought and lead the people in a positive and cohort manner. It isn't born overnight in a person and has to be instilled over a long, arduous and painsticking time. Such a high skill always demands seriosuness coupled with discipline like a martinet.

A person's vision towards life defines his actions so his past plays as much importance as much as his present condition. The past actions, ideas and thoughts may certinly change from time to time but the inner human qualities, pragmatically remains the same. Past glory, honors and education can help define the caricature of a person's life and also his skills. Skills have to be honed over a long period of time to be surmountingly good. Leadership, is brought about in a person in times of crisis, where everything seems lost, negative and daunting. Leadership is linked to self-belief which enables people who possess them take precarious decisions and not prevaricate. These decison making skills are developed by past experiences where such an insinuation may have played out in a positie or negative way. Yet that courage to enforce upon a decision and no matter what stick to it, is what makes a leader obdurate and sharp.

So your past defnitely carves your skills and makes you stronger in more than one ways and enables you to take much wiser decisons. In a war there are many soldiers, few lieutenants and few commanders but only one commander-in-general. So the commander-in-general must be having excellent skills and experience to be competent enough to serve his role. His past actions are what makes his current position so prestigious and honorable. Similarly, leadership skills are a mature form of the past neophyte human being.

Past certainly plays a huge role in everybody lives but to let it control your future is something explicably wrong. Past plays a role in your present skills but to develop future proof skills, you need to work on present skills. Leadership in a current position may not depend on your past accolades but certainly depend on your present attitude. It is wisely said that your life is not about the talent you have but the choices you make. It is necessary to have the right attitude to reach somewhere. Leadership too needs a person to see through the eyes of the sub-ordinates and understand thier pain, views and help them out to reach elevated places of life.

Leadership is a life skill which can have a deep profound effect on not only you but all the lives that are connected to you. It is an art to be a influential leader but more importantly, a righteous leader. Leadership should be based on your thoughts towards life and in the long run, help you become a better human being, irrespective of your past or future.