Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents

were children.

Since the advent of technology, human life has become much more productive and efficient in terms of living, transportation and communication. I critically believe that life today is much more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children. I have two reasons to justify my opinions.

During the time when my grandparents were children, the technology was in its infancy and not evolved to such an extent to affect a lot of people. For instance, My grandparents as children had to walk to their schools which was 10 miles far from home, on foot daily. The number of schools were limited and consisted of students who had to come from other parts of the city. My grandfather as a child would almost end up spending ten to twelve hours in just attending school and going to and fro. Thereby, we can infer that the infrastructure and development was minimal and led to severe wastage of time and productivity. Whereas, in my childhood, I had the privilege to go to school on a school bus. The distance was around 20 miles, but still, I was able to commute everyday because of the technological advancements. Despite commuting and attending school, I would end up spending maximum of eight to ten hours and enjoy the rest of my day. Thus, transportation has ameliorated vastly and touched all our lives and made it much more comfortable.

Secondly, when my grandparents were a child they did not have access to instant communication. Their only hope was a letter which would take from one week to several months to deliver. This delay in receiving information could have adverse effects, especially in times of emergencies. For instance, once my great grandfather was involved in an accident which fractured his legs and was unable to walk. Since, my great grandfather lived in the town to earn a better living, his only hope of informing his family, back at the village was through a letter. The letter got delivered two weeks later to my grandfather and he was helpless as he did not have any means to know about the whole incident. But now the communication technology has improved greatly. With advent of mobile phones, I can talk to my parents and dear ones instantly. Through, video calls we can even see a person who is staying almost opposite across the globe. Hence, life had become much more comfortable.

Thus, I believe that life has become much more comfortable with leaps and bounds advancements in science and more effort focused on research and development. Transportation, infrastructure and communication have improved our quality of living and made us more efficient in terms of productivity.