Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The mass media and internet have been evolving with an astonishing rate which has lead to a lot of intended and unadverted implifications on our lives. It has definitely helped us retrieve more information about a topic we want to study but also given rise to a lot of distractions. However, I agree with the prompt and would like to state two reasons to bolster it.

The mass media and internet helps people to read news of a particular area, from a myriad range of topics right from politics to sports. This has lots of benefits since it helps people to remain updated about the latest news, form opinions about these topics and understand the nuances carefully. ALthough there is large amount of information about these topics, people are able to sort through the information they deem to be useful and neglect the rest. For example, parents read the newspaper to the child and only tell him the news he would be able to comprehend, like the simple sports section and not the obscure and confounding politics section. This way important information is being shared with attention intact to the child and helps to keep the child informed and at the same time attentive to his surrounding.

Since the advent of technological revolution, scientist have collected lot of data about all the experiments they have been working on from their previous years. This has resulted into a lot of data being generated in the form of research papers and journals. This clutered amount of data is enormous yet tyro scientists are able to peruse through this information quickly and extract the data they need to confirm their results or draw inferences from. Thus, people have been able to adapt to these issues wihich has resuted in lot of benefits such as increase in attention span, reading speed and the right mindset to navigate themselves to get the correct information

However, for childrena and kids these might result into deleterious effects since they get distarcted easily without the proper guidance. Children might not be able to cope with this "flood" of information and may get swayed into this labyrinth of information which could lead to loss of concentration, decrease in retentivity and sharp decline in attention span.

Thus there are advantages and disadvantages of this prompt which has been discussed. How we overcome the negatives and boost the advantages to our own benefits, is what will determine how well we are going to be able to handle this.