A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authors states that a pet food company has been bombarded with a lot of complaints about their product and in response, they have recalled 4 million pounds of pet food back. The author further states that these complaints are baseless since after their rigorous testing of these food item, they were found to be of viable quality and then proceeded to say to scrap off the investigation. The authorities conclusion seems to be based on three assumptions, which could potentially reduce the persuasiveness of his decision.

Firstly, the company authorities should conduct full-blown experiments and testing on the entire food components along with the packaging and the product as a whole. For instance there could be some chemical reaction between the food and the plastic packaging being used. The chemical reaction maybe increasing the expiry date of the food by maybe ten or twenty folds and lowering the food quality, which is leading to the deleterious effects such as vomiting and other maladies. Therefore, they need to conduct more research and inculcate more factors which could make the product viable to be eaten.

Secondly, they should consult more laboratories for conducting these experiments, maybe the pet food company is unable to identify the root cause of the issue because of lack of expertise in the subject. They could hire more veterans of the pet food industry and understand the underlying issue of the whole fiasco. For example, a outside consultant could look at the product testing phase with a disinterested look and come up with innovative solutions to solve the crisis. This way resorting to help could overcome this grave issue with effective results.

Lastly, there is no survey or research done as to where are the complaints, received from? The issue could be that different type of pets react differently to the food. Maybe the issue is with only certain species of pets. For instance, the only pets having illnesses and problems are dogs and puppies while the other pets are unaffected. In this case, maybe their product is not conducive for dogs and therefore, the result. So the decision made by the author does not hold water and relies on heavy usage of unreliable information.

Thus, the authorities need to conduct a systematic research about their pet food and understand the nitty-gritty of the matter and take into account all the assumptions listed. After all these parameters are evaluated then carefully, make a more prudent decision which will be viable for the company as well as the pet owners