The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

University of Wabash considering community service for all students as a mandatory requirement for graduation is an excellent decison by the management and I totally in genial with them. This act of kindness will have invaluable benefits to so many lives at once. Notonly does the student dicover the real world problems but also the people who are indignant or homeless they could make use of this oppotunity.

The idea would also make them a better and compassionate human beings. it would add on to their resumes and make them appear as a considerate soul. The students would understand the plights of the community and thier daily struggles with life. Even if a student can tough one life and give it hope and the help they need, that would suffice the whole idea of community idea. This generous act of students will help them become a better orator and improve their communication skills. It will also improe htier management skills as theywill juggle between university classes, homework and service. They would understand the real use of time management and utilise thier total time to become a charitable and hardworking person. The student will also build an attitutude of empathy and sympathy for the unprivileged people and understand and value their own background. Development of academics is important but growth of the mind with moral values is of a greater importance than this world gives it.

As for the charitable institutions they should be feel relieved to receive extra hands to help divide the work and thereby, provide maintainence to each and every person. This initiative would help them become more efficient and also gain ideas from the students on how they could improve the whole charitable institution. The institutions should provide some kind of reward at the end pf the tenure to the student so that they feel motivated and have a sense of connection with the workplace. They should not harass and disturb the students and provide them guidance as and when needed. The institution should not make them over work as that would go against the whole purpose of helping the needy.

The school should maintain a time schedule for every batch of students so that no flummox prevails among all the students. Instead of making it totally unpaid they could provide some rewards at the end to boost the moral of students and give them a goal and an enthusiasm to pursue this work for the long period of nine months. It could also be made mandatory for the freshers and sophomores since they have more time available to them while giving exception to third and fourth year students.

Thus this noble notion of community service is full of advantages for the children and the community. This will help the stuents network and improve thier connections in real life while understanding the complexities and intricacies of life. When you help soceity you help yourself and the world around you. Its a very satisfying feeling to help others especially those in need. This opulent feeling cannot be harvested in your mind by doing any other work. And as they say God helps those, who help themselves.