The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Eating healthy food, has become a fad for this generation and rightfully so, because it keep the body and mind active and agile. The letter from the parent to the principal of the school predicts that the the new cafeteria food, on the premise of healthy food is giving low fat and low calorie based food which will lead to serious health degradation of children at that school. This prediction is based on unwarranted evidences and does not show the veracity of the whole case. I would like to ask some pointed questions which would help us get a better overview of the whole fiasco.

Firstly, what kind of food is Swift Nutrition providing to the students of Kensington? Do the food options provided have appropriate proportions of protein, carbohydrate and fats? This would help us understand the food available at the cafeteria. There could be possibility that the food may not be enjoyable or tasty enough but be sufficiently packed with enough nutrients that may prove beneficial to a lot of different students and help them become salubrious. We surely, cannot be reliant on the data provided by the parent's child and his friends. For example, there could be a thousand children in the school and only thirty to forty students are not enjoying the food. In that case, it would be prudent to see what exactly is the issue of those students. Therefore the prediction and the assumption does not hold water.

Secondly, the parent says that students are going to bring their own lunches which would be more healthier than the cafeteria. I would like to ask on what assumption has the parent concluded that the lunch which these kids will bring from home, will be more healthier than the one's received from the cafeteria? There could be a possibility that the students get tasty food from home which might be enjoyable but at the same time not be healthy enough and devoid of nutritients. Consuming this type of food may lead to severe health issues which could lead to illnesses like diarrhea and dysentery. Therefore, we cannot conclude that by bringing their own lunch boxes, the students will remain healthy.Thus the argument of the parent has a folly in it.

Thirdly, there is no validity of the point that by changing the vendor, issue will be resolved. There may be a slim chance that the new food vendor has exacerbated the previous food quality and which could actually serious health complications and pose danger to the whole school. For example, the present scenario is only affecting a certain contingent of students, by changing the vendor, things could become more aggravated and affect a major chunk of the school population. Thus the whole premise of the parent is full of loop holes.

Therefore, there should be a systematic research study conducted about the Swift Vendor, from all the students and then based on that authentic information carry out all the needed precautions to maintain the health standards of all the students.