Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

University is a place of learning, place where one explores oneself, find where he/she is good at. Usually before taking admission into a univerity, one's

asked to select a specialisation they wish to join and are admitted accordingly. Later on, in the subsequent times they're asked to choose courses in a specific pool related to the specialisation choosen. This issue addresses by allowing students in a university to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study and the issue isnt as simple as two sides of a coin and requires deeper comrehension to conclude.

Universities are presumptuous that candidate has well planned their career and will stick to it. But, meanwhile, they forget that the whole life is an ongoing learning curve and requires exposure, the exposure which is provided at the universities. This exposure is necessary for the adults who are the future of the world. For instance if a person has choosen Signal Processing and Machine Learning as his specialisation and with this knowledge if he wants to work on a atomic structure based problem statement, he will be helpless with his Machine Learning skills. So to solve a practical statemement, a little knowledge in different domains always comes handy. And after all these are the people leading the country, and they require all skills.

On the other hand, there's always "Jack of all trades and master of none". This cannot be denied, as in a competitive world as such of ours, there's always a need to be unique and stand out. And there's a provision always to beg help from the others who're specialised in the domain one's not into. But to give back to the country, one has to be an asset in a domain atleast with the foundation clearly set up, to avoid being a liability.

With this discussion, it can be concluded that one's personal interest matters the most. If one is sure of the domain they want to pursue in and he/she shouldn't be forced to choose topics they aren't interested in. Whereas, candidates who like exploring and approaching a solution by considering various domains should be allowed to take topics out of their course.