The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

This article about the concern related to the consequences of overdevelopment in the Maple Country, is what almost every other other developed and some developing countries are currently facing. Development usually stands for eradicating the non industrial land involving the forest land, farmland to the new day technological sounding buildings. This has major impact on the lifestyle of the citizens which requires qualitative and quantitative comprehension.

The proponents of the measure instancing the Chestnut County, stated that after establishing a similar measures ten years ago have observed only a modest increase in the house prices. The proponents here fail to give us a statistical result of the survey. Similarly even the opponents by giving example of Pine Country where the housing prices, apparently, have doubled after establishing a similar measure 15 years ago.

After apprehending both the sides view, its ostensible that there are many more yardsticks which both the sides have failed to present. Just the housing price isn't the correct measure to quantify the expense of living. The fact of housing prices being utterly influenced by the economy of the country has been completely ignored. A data related to the change in food expenditure with the implementation of this measure, would have provided us a better notion of how farmland has been effected.

The fact that with the developing or developed countries, comes the new and affordable technology. This implies progress would have definitely been made on improvising the productivity of farms. So restricting the resources of technology to distribute to the already self sufficient agriculture sector, would be a waste of resources.This point could have definitely made the opponent's argument stronger.

If the article could have focused more on potraying the facts and figures of the other criterion as mentioned above the decison process would have been a lot more easier.