The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

"On this year's survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances."

The memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dextor Gorman Instruments recomments the president of the company to pursuade employees to complete their work duing the regular 40 - hour week and allow overtime only when the situation demands. However the prediction is contingent upon several questions that must be answered to properly evaluate the validity of the argument.

First the argument begins with how the quality of work is being effected by the employees who take less time to complete their assigned work. However there might be other data taken along with this survey which revolves around why does he/she agree so and if this was asked why isn't the related data not presented in the argument. The survey informations seems incomplete as it is important for each survey to mention how many employees have they asked for inputs and do these employees represent each and every sector of the company. If it represents every sector of the company then only the survey is valid and considerable.

In furtherance, the only justification attached which mentions that the overtime group identified by several managers who work for more than 48 hours unlike other who work less that 40 hours tend to produce more documented errors. However this doesnt assure the argument completely. Perhaps a comparison of documented errors made by the group while working overtime than the same group working in time coul strengthen the argument. As it clearly justifies the relation between hours of working and the errors made unlike the justification presented in the argument which is banal and can be misunderstood due to different group of employees involved in comparison.

Additionally the justification just includes documentation erros but what about other errors. The argument begins with how the yearly survey about people's perspective of work habits is wrong which claims that the quality of work is negative effected by the employees who take less time to complete the assignmed work. However the quality of the work is not merely determined by documentation. It inculcates factor like the management, production depending on which department the employee belongs to, which is missing in the argument. Hence a bar chart which includes three field of a group working with lesser number of hours than expected, is working as much as reuired and working overtime for every department or sector in the company could help the decision making team to measure the severity of this recommendation for implementation.

In conclusion, despite the study which presents that overtime groups produce more documentation errors than the fellow employees the recommendation based on the study given is rife with unwarranted study and open to the question stated above questions that must be answered satisfactorily to prove the plausibility of such presentments.