Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the 21st century, it is very important for the person to be multi-skilled and multitalented. University being the foundation of gaining knowledge, it is very important for the university to encourage the students to take a variety of courses outside their field of study. Developing skills outside their domain would help them to succeed in their career.

Nowadays, many engineering students from the discipline of electrical engineering, chemical engineering or civil engineering are learning the skills of data analysis and other computational skills. Learning outside their domain will help them to analyse and make informed decisions. Not only in the Industrial jobs, the researchers from all disciplines are building the computational skills which help them to build models and could analyse big datas. Moreover, many disciplines are working in collaboration for building and developing technology for the future. Many concepts have become interdisciplinary and taking a variety of courses helps the student to select the career they want to pursue.

Furthermore, university being the source of knowledge, some engineering students also build interest by taking courses on finance, marketing and build their career in Management. While, people may develop interest in the field of humanities which may also open a wide range of opportunities for the students.

Also, not only from the career perspective, taking courses from other domains may help the student for personal development. A student in the field of medicine taking course from humanities like history or physiology or physiology will help them to expand their knowledge in these fields. Besides the growth options in the career, having knowledge from other domains will also help you to socialize with other like minded people.

On the other hand if a university does not encourage the students to take courses from other domains, the student may become a subject matter expert but he or she may not think critically and might not analyse the problems from other perspectives.

In conclusion, the university must encourage their students to take a variety of courses other than their field of study to have professional and personal development. Its very crucial to be multi talented and multi skilled to stand out in society.