Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world is not a singular place, there is a daily ongoing interactions between people of different fields and knowledge. A student may major in a particular field but having knowledge and basic understanding of other fields helps create a well rounded individual.

Potential employers are all on the look out for individuals with soft skills, which are usually gotten from courses outside the student field of study, for example a Chemist to be employed apart from been adroit in his/ her field is expected to have nascent skills in management, interpersonal, organisational skills etc which can only be obtained from social sciences courses.

Taking classes outside one major exposes such individual to new ideas, new people and develop the over social and critical thinking skills. Another example is the tremendous effect computer has had on every field of study. Skills gained from learning how to use a computer cuts across every field in life. However some survey taken shows it's stressful combining these extra courses with one's major but on the long run the many benefits of these borrowed cause can never be undermined.

Many students have attested to how useful taking courses from outside their field of study has aided them in blending perfectly into the society, therefore university should require every student to take a course out it's field of study.