Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the vital elements in a person's life. There are wide range of courses around the world, which the students can pursue and obtain a degree. The stream which a student has to opt solely depends on the interest of that student. Thus, I agree with the notion that students must take the courses only in which they are interested.

To begin with, if the students are allowed to study the courses in which they are interested in, it allows them to complete their course quickly so that they can begin the search for their job related to their stream. In the recent survey conducted by "The Times" magazine in New York city, 80% of the students who opted the fields in which they are interested in cracked a job within 3 months of their graduation. However, only 35% of them got a job in their respective field who were forced to learn the other courses in addition to the courses in which they are interested in. This clearly states that students who have opted their own courses have higher probability to find a job than the ones who pursue other additional courses.

Money is also an important element of education. If the students are forced to learn courses other than the ones they are interested in, higher amounts must be paid as fees to the college for the extra credits which they are learning. However, in most of the cases such newer courses might not be helpful to the student in his future. How can an computer science graduate who is learning an additional music course use the musical strings in his programming career? According to a recent survey in the state of Texas, the students who cannot afford for higher costs of education have to drop off because of penury. Hence, considering cost factor into account it is not a logical idea to make the students to learn additional courses.

In contrast, there might be certain students who have not yet decided about their future plan to pursue a career. Such students might not be willing to opt for a particular course of study. For such students, Universities must come up with their own curriculum which enhances the skill of the student in all round development. After the completion of graduation, such a student can develop an interest in one of the theme during the course of the time in college and opt for a career in a particular field.

To conclude, there are certain students who already have a clear cut aims and goals about their careers and for such students opportunity must be provided to chose their own fields of study. This can allow such students to grab a job easily in the market after the completion of graduation as well as reduce the costs of education. However, there might be certain students who have not yet decided about their interested field of study and for such students, Universities must come up with courses which enhance the skill in a broader range.