Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Students go to a university to gain knowledge which would help them to build their future. A Computer science student does not require to understand the concept of thermodynamics to excel in his/her domain. I contend with the statement that the universities should require students to take courses only they are interested in.

If students study only the subject the are interested in, then there is high chance that they might get a good score in those subjects as they will study to gain knowledge and not to get marks. Knowledge is more important for future success than good marks. Studying specific subjects, students will have more time to focus and concentrate thoroughly on their specific field.

If a student is made to study a subject, which the student does not have interest and that subject does not belong to his/her field of study, then there is a chance that the student might fail. For instance, a computer science student is taught auto cad, a software used by mechanical engineers, and he fails in that subject. How can computer science student be measured by how well can he use auto cad when that software has no relation with the students future.

However, there are instances where some students do not know their field of interests, so to find out the University makes students study some subjects from all the courses which will help then to thoroughly find out their real interest.

In conclusion, the university should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. Indeed, which will help the student to realise their real potential and excel in their fields.