Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities are the knowledge house for every student. Indisputably, student spend most part of their young learning years in colleges. Also, it is the duty of the universities to shape future careers of the students via various courses that they learn. Thus, I believe that students should take courses from many fields apart from the major field of interest during their initial years of study.

For overall development, it is very important for students to have basic working knowledge in multiple fields. For example, consider a student who is very good in mathematics and has potential to do great research. But the student lacks basic writing and communication skills. Now if the student was allowed to focus on courses only in mathematics with no subjects from communication skills, he might not be able to develop necessary communication skills and hence, he/she will not be able to communicate his/her research ideas to the society. Thus, limiting courses only to the fields of interest might hamper an overall growth and students might suffer in their careers when they actually come out in the real world.

Furthermore, research in many areas requires knowledge from multiple fields. Without having sufficient basic knowledge in other fields, it might become very difficult to get a great progress. Consider the field of Robotics in which a person might be trying to develop algorithms for driverless car with his/her knowledge in computer science. Now, for testing purposes and even for stimulation of real environment, he/she will need some basic engineering physics knowledge. Without having any knowledge in this field, the students' research might get hampered. Interdisciplinary research is not only limited in fields of robotics, but many medical fields also need some basic engineering knowledge to understand various diagnostic tools that can be developed. Ultimately, limiting the study to the only field of interest might seems very enticing for the student, but in actual working environment, the limited knowledge can seriously hobble the progress and advancement in technology.

Moreover, sometimes it is very difficult for students to know their interests in the early college years. In such situations, it is very important for universities to have courses from wide variety of areas to help student in developing interests in a particular field. However, this does not mean that university should force students to take too many courses from other fields. This can seriously discourage a student from pursuing higher studies and further it can demotivate the student. Instead, universities should focus on a major field of study, with a few extra elective courses from other fields. In this way, a fine balance can be maintained between the major course of study and other fields.

In conclusion, although superficially it might seem good for a student to take courses only from the field of interests; this has its own disadvantages. In fact, it should be the duty of universities to create sharp minds with an overall development. In this way, the learning in colleges can go a long way in building very strong careers.