"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that there has been a great decline in the physical fitness amongst the citizens of Corpora due to decrease in economy. Further author claims that fitness levels will again improve with improvement in the economy. But author clearly misses some key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated, to come to the conclusion. The author justifies that low expenditure on fitness related products is due to decline in economy. But on careful scrutiny, the evidences presented by author provide very less credibility to the conclusion.

Firstly, medical experts claim that the recent decrease in fitness levels of Corpora citizens is due to increase in the time that they spend in front of a computer. The author clearly refutes the claim of medical experts by mentioning a result that fitness levels are highest in the regions of Corpora where highest number of computers are owned. But no evidence is given to support the claim of highest levels of fitness in that specific region. It might be true that medical experts are actually correct and the survey on which the claimed results are presented by author was flawed. Even if we assume that the area with highest computer ownership is the most physically fit, there is not evidence to actually support the usage in that particular area. It might be true that the area actually had highest number of computers but people rarely used them. If it turns out that these facts were actually true, it would strongly weaken the authors argument of refuting the claims by medical experts.

Secondly, the author claims that there is recent decrease in the consumption of fitness related products. But again there is no evidence to support this claim. It might be very likely that the study was done on some specific product or brand and people might have stopped using those products or brands. Also, another possible senario is people might have shifted to more natural and home made fitness products. They might have actually started doing yoga which does not require any equipment as such. Again without knowing answer to these questions, it is very difficult to co-relate the decrease in usage of fitness products as the main reason for decrease in the fitness level of Corpora citizens.

Lastly, without any evidence or support author states that the decrease in economy is the reason for decrease in fitness levels. Furthermore, author assumes that as economy would become more stable people, the fitness level of the people would automatically improve. This assumption of author is filled with rifts and needs much support. Also the change in the fitness levels is compared with the the twenty years old result. It might be true that the lifestyle of people is actually affected due to recent advancements in computer technology. There is no evidence to the trend of the fitness levels over these years. Without the trend, we can not make any relation between changing lifestyles and the fitness levels. It might have been true that the fitness levels gradually decreased from half to quater in these twenty years. Also, there has been no evidence to support the economy trends and the trends in fitness levels. It might be true that even with higher fitness levels, the economy was similar twenty years back. If this turns out to be true, the authors conclusion would be really undermined.

In conlusion, the argument is clearly unpersuasive as it stands. To futher bolster it, author must provide more evidences to support his claims of relating recent decrease in economy with the decrease in fitness levels. Finally answer to above raised questions are a must to make any reason about the recent decrease in the fitness levels of the citizens od Corpora.