Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities today offer a wide range of courses for students, ranging from naturl sciences to spirituality, and from social studies to engineering and medicine.But whether students should be allowed to chose the subjects of their interest or should the university be imposing upon them a rigid curriculum to adhere to is a popular topic of debate with somewhat equal weightage on both pans. However, according to me, a balance can be struck between the two sides and that would prove to be an optimal cirriculum for a student.

However, the statement posed by the author is not outright absurd.In today's world,where technology is advancing at a rampant pace and discoveries and inventions in various fields are becoming an evertyday phenomenon, the demand for strong and speacialized knowledge and strong academic foundations is growing at an exponential rate. For example, artificial intelligence is an exploding field which demands specializations and thorough understading of certain engineering subjects.For a studen aiming to pursue this career path, a subject from philosophy or history won't prove helpful at all.

In addition to this, pursuing subjects from disciplines other than the students interest would also be rendered a waste if time, which could have been better utilized in the concerned interest.This though is likely to sway the student toward his interest, thereby not dedicating attention and time to the other subjects.This is bound to affect the student's overall academic performance and thus strike a blow to his/her self-confidence.

Notwithstanding the above views in support of the issue here, some might still argue that subjects other than the student's liking should not be completely ignored.It is a well-established fact that most of the adulthood is shaped by not the subjects that a person likes to study, but by the overall personality that a person possesses.And a person's personality and his holistic development is moulded in a significant way by the variety and richness of knowledge to which one is exposed to.

Thus, thinking that taking a philosophy class in university was a complete waste of time would be a wrong statement tom make,as the subject did help one to get a meaningful insight of how learning and the human thinking took shape over the course of time.Universities should thus strive to strike a balance by establishing a curriculum that brings al=bout a holistic development