We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As famously quoted by Greek philosopher Socrates, "the unexamined life is not worth living". Someone who does not branch out and experience other ways of life or is unexposed to different viewpoints does not attain the satisfaction the stems from life. While some may argue that it is better to affiliate ourselves with people whose views are similar to ours, perhaps, due to the degree of camaraderie and rapport that can be established, it is clear that we have much more to gain by speaking with people whose views contradict our own. I believe that we can learn much more from those whose views ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.