We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement attempts to bridge a relationship between our psychological trait of learning and our views. For knowing the truth we can not only rely on our own view, rather should know the other facts to provide a basis for comparing both and that is why, we learn more from people whose views we share is too much extreme statement to agree with.

When a child is born, it starts to learn from it's parents. That learning process is also greatly influenced by the surrounding culture, family, friends, religion etc. A child's first superman is his father, doing all the tasks, performing all responsibilities adroitly. That is why, children more or less hold the same view as their parents. By watching or observing the situation, a child learn and many of the time it may not question about the validity of all task. As child grows up, by observing the same wrong practice, he may believe that, that is how it should be done & that is the only way. When that type of perception is built up in his mind, he gradually confines him in a parochial view towards a problem. That is why, being with the people of same ideology, can one time limits one's view.

Additionally, continuous interaction with the people having same views, subconsciously lessen the scope of learning. As, a person holds a view and always interact with the same kind of people, there are very little scope to challenge his views, his learning. Maybe, the person is having a misconception but there is no one to correct his idea. For example, when Ptolemy stated the geocentric model, there were no one to challenge his theory and that is why for a long period, people at that time died having a false idea of earth's being the center of the universe. When Copernicus came up with his idea of heliocentric model, initially people resisted, but in the long run, it was proved that the earth moves around the sun. That legacy continued to Galileo and it was also proved that sun is not the center of the universe, rather it also rotates in it's orbit. So, a new theory always open a new horizon of knowledge. It can be controversial or may not be true, but always provide a ground to confirm the established truth or to embrace a new one.

On the contrary, similar view toward a problem can facilitate to reach to the solution more quickly. For instance, when the people of a country and it's government believe in the same principle, development accelerates. Similarly, having too much different opinion thwart the progress.

So, to conclude, it is evident that, being with the people of same mentality is not always progressive and that is why to bring out the best outcome, to know the real truth, to learn a situation neutrally we should welcome both side of the coin.