We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Systematically studying the factors which enable humans to learn has been an age old psychological subject. The statement in question considers such a debate, arguing whether we learn more from our limitations and failures over focusing on our successes. While there is no black and white answer to the question, to say that struggles are solely what make a man is naive. Successes can also teach important lessons required to win in life.

The most important aspect in support of success as a teacher is the method by which we choose are careers. The most rewarding careers are made when a person chooses the field in which he has the most aptitude in. This can only happen when he identifies and leverages his strengths - by looking at his past successes. Most successful scientists show begin showing their aptitude in basic math & science right from primary schools. Would they have accomplished so much had they stopped focusing on their scientific gifts but instead struggle with arts? Clearly, studying successes provides a definite way to decide the fields which suits a person the most rather than wasting time on deliberating on the skills he lacks.

Further, it has been proven that positive reinforcement has a stronger effect in molding a mind than its negative counterpart. Psychological studies on classical conditioning, starting from the time of the renowned Psychologist Ivan Pavlov, have shown that mammals with brains closely resembling to human brains learn skills the fastest when they are continuously rewarded after a correct showcase of the expected action. In fact, neurology confirms this, the connections in our brains are reinforced when dopamine - the chemical compound that is released on euphoria after success - hits the neurons. Such examples show that success could in fact be more important to learning, much more than worrying about limitations.

Notwithstanding the benefits of enjoying our successes, it is important to not discount the idea of continuous improvement by previous failures. No success is absolute, there are always areas which could have been done better. Focusing on such areas can be the differentiator of a person from the herd. This shows that the issue at hand is complex, and the value of successes can not be ignored in life. Honing skills that a person already excels in can often lead to a rewarding career. Such claims are also supported by science.