As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Its often said that human curiosity is the sole reason behind the advancement of our species. Questioning what, why, and how about every natural phenomenon has perhaps lead to the greatest discoveries and inventions. The statement in question takes a myopic view that this search for knowledge is redundant, ignoring the centuries of progress the human race has made. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint, and support it with several arguments.

The most glaring counterexample to this view is the difference in standard of life when compared with that of a primeval human ape to a modern man. We have left behind the time where each day was life & death, hiding from predators and facing the uncertainty about the daily nourishment. In fact, such basic needs for survival can safely be taken for granted by every person in the world. Moreover, the burning desire to learn more about how our bodies work, and the relentless pursuit, experiments, and research by millions of humans has doubled the life expectancy of our species, something no other species can boast of. Would such tremendous change be possible if this seemingly ‘useless’ knowledge acquisition only lead to more darkness?

Even if we ignore the improvement in our own life for a moment, and all the comforts and amenities that have been a culmination of collective knowledge, we simply cannot ignore how far we have come in taming the world. This decade was highlighted by our first successful mission to mars - a planet which is light years away from us, revolving at a speed of tens of thousands of kilometers per hour and has an inclement weather with uninhabitable environment. Truly, such amazing feat could only be achieved by standing on the shoulder of giants, the sweat and blood of millions of scientists over centuries studying astronomy, mastering the laws of physics and honing their ability to build. It is simply not conceivable for any this to happen if according to the statement any attempt to learn lead to increasing complexity and mysteriousness

It could be argued that answers to current questions lead to more newer questions. True, while there is more to learn now than before, it would be naive to ignore the benefits of each step that we take forward in making sense of the world. Instead, this realisation of ignorance should be taken as a sign of hope, that while we have come this far, there is a long way to go.