Scholars and researchers should not be concerned with whether their work makes a

contribution to the larger society. It is more important that they pursue their individual interests,

however unusual or idiosyncratic those interests may seem.

Should the contribution to society be a parameter of concern in a researcher’s work? The statement claims otherwise and instead supports that research should be solely driven by one’s passion and interests. I wholeheartedly agree. Not only is it difficult to judge the merit of an invention in its nascent stages, such meaningless concern about its effect on society can often impede progress. If not qualified, such concern can also backfire and lead to great societal harm.

To begin with, the author’s claim implicitly assumes that an invention’s contribution to the society can be predicted during its development phase. It is easy to find examples that prove otherwise. Consider the internet, a project which was started by the United States Department of Defence to enhance wartime communication. None of its founding researchers and army generals could’ve predicted the revolution this technology would bring to the world. What began as an idea exclusive to the army now permeates the daily life of each of us. In fact, even today after many years of its inception, several novel ideas such as social media and e-commerce are built on top of it. Clearly, to measure such an invention’s far reaching effects on the society is meaningless, and any such attempts would only detract from actual research work.

Further, assuming that there exists prophetic knowledge on the societal impact of every piece of research, inumerous advances were made only because of a scholar’s intransigence in face of society’s negative recommendations. Consider the modern airplane, foundations of which were laid by the Wright brothers. Their heroic tale is plagued with multiple failures and discouragement from the people around them. Many told them that their efforts were futile and a waste of their resources. It is difficult to imagine that they would have succeeded had they heeded to their contemporaries’ advice. This shows that not only is it hard to estimate an invention’s contribution to the society, but often it is plain wrong. In fact, expectations like these can often translate into the fear of failure, preventing scholars from taking giant leaps of faith required to push a field’s boundaries.

Finally, some of history's most egregious crimes have been a product of researcher’s misplaced belief that they are working towards a better society. Case in point is the Nazi regime and their ‘Survival of the Fittest’ theory. In their attempt to ‘purify’ the world, they undertook severely dangerous operations on healthy people to emulate physical characteristics closer to their race of choice. Such mad rush was fueled by their own vision of the perfect society - something the author’s claim seems to justify.

To sum up, the claim that societal consideration should be a major parameter behind choosing a research project is baseless. Not only is such a parameter hard to quantify, but limited knowledge can often miscalculate it. Further, the subjectivity of such a parameter makes it susceptible to incredibly varying and sometimes reprehensible defintions all in the name of bettering the society.