In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Has the age of intensive media coverage upped the ante for a man or woman to become a hero? The author asserts so, perhaps referring to the fact that no individual is perfect and media scrutiny often uncovers faults in people who we otherwise hail as heroes. I disagree, and contend with the following arguments.

Firstly, the claim that any flaw that is found in our heroes will repel the society undermines the society’s ability to judge people. People can regard heroes for merits in one sphere of life while keeping apart vices that they may suffer from in other spheres. Consider the legendary actor Brad Pitt, for example. With multiple academy awards under his belt, his legacy in the world of cinema hasn’t been stained despite multiple failures in his personal life. Even with the unwarranted attention by the media on his several divorces, most people still herald him as one of the finest actors in our generation. This goes to show that even with problems or incompetencies a person may have in one field, the society can judge and pronounce heroes based on talent in other exclusive fields.

Further, intense media coverage has in fact filtered true heroes from the pretend ones. Often, media scrutiny has uncovered several fraudsters who were misleading their followers by donning a fake mask. The testament to this is the recent falling of several sanctimonious gurus who were culminated by women for rape in the ‘me too’ movement. Many Indian gurus who pretended to take a moral high ground and were feted by their followers to be an avatar of god himself were found in jail cells after they were caught misusing their power to brainwash innocent girl children. This is a direct result of 21st century’s journalism push where the media isn’t afraid of uncovering the truth even by attacking established heroes.

Finally, contrary to the author’s claims, the increase in media coverage due to technological advancements has brought in limelight exceptional scholars in obscure fields. Take, for example, Greta Thunberg, a Swedish teenager whose video showing her outrage on the authority’s disregard towards the environment went viral. In seconds, millions of online viewers on various media platforms made her an overnight celebrity. She consequently was able to leverage this pedestal and bring in actual environmental reform in Sweden’s and the world’s policies. Such episodes would be impossible without the media’s intense hunger to immediately showcase the most worthy actions, irrespective of the individual, to the public.

Clearly, any claim disparaging the effect of new age media on evaluating heroes is indefensible. It not only undermines the society’s ability to judge, but overlooks the filtering effect it has had on identifying heroes actually worthy of praise. It also ignores how media now plays an instrumental role in quickly awarding actions that deserve praise, regardless of the person behind them.