Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In every generation, the advent of any new technology gives rise to feverous debates on its usefulness versus its adverse effects. The statement in question considers one such argument - do the 21st century technological innovations like video, computers and the internet overhaul traditional teaching methodologies, or are they just another distraction which impede learning? The author claims that these particular advances have done more harm than good, but I disagree. Any such attempt to disregard these novel innovations undermines the revolution that they have brought in the education world.

Firstly, the use of videos, multimedia images and interactive content has proven to be incredibly effective education tools. Never has it been easier to understand the intricacies of our three dimensional world - complex mathematical objects like the torus or a Klein's bottle which are difficult to realise physically can be created using computer graphics. Instead of spending hours on trying to visualize such tortuous objects in our head based on their textual descriptions, students can now simply play and learn with intutive applications which render them directly on their screens. Multiple independent studies by leading psychological conferences have shown that such use of animated video and graphical interfaces universally increases a student's understanding and retention.

Further, even if we ignore the direct benefits the technological revolution has brought on the world of education as teaching aids, we cannot deny their effects on outreach and inclusion. Internet has brought the world closer, and this is best reflected by the universal availability of educational content. A number of universities and platforms like Khan Academy and Coursera have leveraged the wide reach of the internet and made 'Massively Open Online Courses' (MOOCs) available to everyone with access to a simple smartphone. This has significantly lowered the bar to receive quality education - something which was reserved for the upper class society even in the recent past. Not only does these new methods improve methods of learning, but they allow for a more uniform global access to them.

Nevertheless, notwithstanding the concrete benefits that technology has brought to the table, if left uncontrolled, one cannot ignore the potential it holds to impede learning. Some effects of this can already be seen. A recent study by UNESCO claims that the young generation is found to spend more than 3hrs a day on their smartphone incessantly scrolling their social media profiles and vying for 'likes' in these virtual worlds. But such arguments can be made for any teaching tool - a similar movement revolting against bringing books or any written text into classical schools happened in the late 1500s. Their argument was eerily similar to what the opponents of technology often advocate; they claimed that books can in fact have a corrupting influence on young minds and distract them from true learning.

Clearly, while the issue at hand isn't black and white, the positives of a video driven internet connected world completely outweight the negatives. It may be true that unrestrained use of technology may have some downsides and may distract children, these can be easily controlled as our legislators, teachers and parents mature in identifying such side effects. Regardless of this, their use as effective teaching aids and their unparalleled outreach should not be overshadowed by such concerns.