Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In my country, young people have a better life today than their parents enjoyed when they were young. Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

Do the young people of today have it easier than the last generation? The statement claims so, but I disagree. While I concede that the average standard of living has increased, I believe that the statement undermines the severity of the challenges the current generation faces. Not only are there problems which are unique to this particular age, many problems of the past still continue to be a challenge today.

To begin with, the current day and age is plagued with problems that did not even exist in the past. Perhaps the most compelling example of this is global warming, which became a prime concern barely a decade ago. The increasing average global temperature has been the leading cause behind catastrophic disasters like floods and forest fires throughout the world. In fact, I have experienced this first hand; the river Yamuna that flows through my city has been causing annual floods for the last few years. My parents, on the other hand, never had to worry about the river overflowing from the dam in their childhood. These problems cannot be compared to any equivalent problem in the past, and they have definitely worsened the lives of many young people today.

Further, even if we ignore problems unique to this generation, some problems like war, crime, and discrimination still affect our society. Take, for example, the evil practice of Dowry in my country which forces the bride to pay the groom’s family in cash and kind before marriage. And even though the law prohibited any such practice almost half a century ago, the progress towards eradicating it from society has been almost negligible. In fact, many of my cousins themselves faced this during their marriages as did many of my parents’ friends during their time. The state of affairs in this respect have remained constant, and people from both generations have been affected the same.

Clearly, any statement which claims that young people experience a substantially better life than their parents fails to encompass the challenges, new and old, this generation face.