People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are the most critical of it.

In an ideal world, people who develop an idea or policy should also be the idea's finest critiques. But, as things generally are in the real world, the reality is much different. This notion, while may seem acceptable to a credulous audience, if studied carefully may prove to be incorrect. There are several aspects revolving around this statement that can be analysed to show this.

To begin with, the fundamental nature of human as a mammal prevents it from being too critical of anything he or she has developed, nurtured and evolved. Most parents see their children with a blurred lens - they are often unable to find major character flaws or inepitude in their children which may be plainly visible to any outside observer. Often, similar is the case with scientists with their theories. Case in point is the fiery debate on the atomic model that took place in the late 19th century. Several distinguished nobel prize winning scientists, including Niels Bohr, Rutherford, and Thomson, lead it with their own model of the atom (the smallest unit of our physical world). So devoted and intransigent were they in backing their individual theories, that even with contrary evidence disproving their ideas, they did not budge. This lead to a blot on an otherwise stellar career of these scientists. Examples like this can be found in any field, proving that the human psyche precludes unbiased analysis of ideas and policies which originate from one's own mind.

Further, the opposite, more often than not is found true. People make excellent critiques of theories which attack their own. This is solely a self-preserving behaviour, in which protecting one's own ideas leads to a critical analysis of anything opposing it. Perhaps this is one of the foundational elements of democracy, and the reason behind why it is so successful. Both the left and the right wing politicians of any country are obdurate with their ideologies - firm believers of a more conservative economic expenditure will rarely agree with a radical foreign investment policy. Such dedicated arguments, with each party meticulously finding bugs in every nook and cranny in the opposition's plans, often lead to constructive debates and improvements all round. The whole notion of democracy and parliamentary government will fall apart if every one was noble enought to find flaws in their own thoughts.

Clearly, the topic at hand is intricately intertwined with human psychology. While this philosophy may hold true in a utopia, it fails to hold water in the real world. The very nature of humans precludes the possibility of finding faults in their own ideas. Instead, they tend to be great critiques of other opposing ones.