The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

In the memo from the vice president of Dura-Sock, Inc, it was concluded that discontinuing with their patented Endure manufacturing process will result in an increase in profits. While the conclusion is plausible and its realisation may have the intended effect, the arguments backing it in their current states are precarious. Much more evidence needs to be comprehensively analysed and several questions must be answered to show that the conclusion holds water.

Firstly, the vice president assumes that the study's result of their average customer buying their socks in a three month cycle negates the usefulness of their famous Endure process. This may not be the case. It is possible that the buyers' purpose to frequently buy new socks is to keep up to date with the latest fashion trends and not because their last purchase malfunctioned. Similarly, equally possible is that these are frequently bought as gifts and are not used directly by the buyer. Further, the study's result could be incorrectly aggregated. It could be that the variance between peek sale season during winter holidays with customers buying significantly more socks and the relatively dull summers could account for an average quarterly buying cycle. Such bias would invalidate any skepticism towards the Endure Manufacturing process.

Moreover, surveying existing customers may dissemble the true picture. As is often found for clothing articles, It is possible that a significant portion of sales of Dura-Sock depends upon new first-time customers. While the relatively few old customers may value Dura-Socks' color choice and appearance, what if the main point of attraction for any new customer is their advertised Endure process technology? Any volatility in their customer base will require them to focus on bringing more customers on board rather than appeasing existing ones. Therefore, the survey should also include potential customers, perhaps of a rivaling firm, in its investigation.

Finally, restricting the survey to the 'largest' market may not be representative of actual profits that the company churns. In a globalized market with dynamic pricing, shipping overheads, and labour costs, it could be so that their 'largest' market in terms of sale may not actually be their largest profit generator. What if even with relatively less sale in any other country's market, the higher profit margin compounds to a larger net profit overall profit when compared with northeastern United States cities? This would mean that opinion of other customers in different markets, especially ones responsible for the most profit, should also be taken into account before arriving at the conclusion.

Clearly, the conclusion derived may not hold water as the backing arguments are rife with flaws. The study's result should be critically analysed, and any implication from customers' buying cycle should be very carefully derived. The change in customer base and the opinion of potential customers should also be accounted. Furthermore, a more comprehensive survey inclusive of high profit markets should be conducted to validate the vice president's efforts.