The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Do authorities ensure well-being of a society”? The research has shown that authorities intend to provide environment conducive to well-being of society and its citizen, however, due to the varied nature of problems and constant change in the environment the authorities are operating in, sometimes authorities are unable to address the concerns of a whole society and thus, it focuses on priorities. The prompt points out to a widely accepted belief that if authorities are questioned, only then well-being of a society can be guaranteed. In my view I strongly agree with the claim and exemplify that due to practice of following the priorities, the authorities must be questioned on how they decide the priority and how they are planning to address them in the coming years. The reasons justifying my view are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

First of all, as everyone has right to security from the social evils such as molestation, trafficking and smuggling etc., thus, authorities must not only be questioned but also provide answers as to how they are working on ensuring safety and security of its citizens. For example, when one of the most macabre cases of rape and molestation registered in India, it attracted the attention of world media on the deteriorating law enforcement agencies of India. Media, social rights activists and NGOs collaborated and questioned the authority on such grave incidents. The authorities were forced to promulgate a law deterring any one resort to such measures must be executed. As a result, the crime against women significantly stemmed. Further, when the incident of mass exploitation of children and further involved them in human trafficking in India came under limelight, the authorities were questioned on enforcing child safety laws and people asked the authorities to present the process on this case to a elected leader on daily basis. Such inquiry into the justice made the authorities to pull up their socks and bring convicts under trials. Therefore, questioning of authorities is necessary in order to ensure the safety of women and children in a society like India.

Secondly, as everyone aspire to do better in business and hopes to reach to the pinnacle but the malevolence of bureaucracy and red-tapism to prevent it, makes the strong case for questioning the authorities responsible for regulating the business rules. For example, when World Bank started to publish the rankings of countries on different parameters with the objective to find out which countries are more open to adapt their rules to facilitate business growth, the media houses that were focussed on business and employment growth started to question authorities on why India ranks low among other developing countries, the authorities started to work on facilitating business processes and as a result the rank of India improved by 30 points. Further, as it known that authorities are sceptical about innovation and new discovery since it leads to unconventional wisdom and it disrupt the society initially, the authorities in India were pulled up by not only people those working on innovative ideas but also by judiciary when India lags behind on innovation index due to its lax policies on protecting intellectual property rights. As a result India came out with a blue print of new laws protecting intellectual products and services from plagiarism and theft etc. Therefore, questioning the authorities is obligatory on a society if it intends to see the reform in a society.

Finally, as it is known that in the time run up to the elections, authorities uses the resources extravagantly to deceive the voters. This practice had resulted in loss of millions of dollars spent on reckless schemes. As it grew overwhelmingly, the group consists of economists, researchers and political pundits starts questioning the intention of authorities on such spending and asks them to furnish reports in the parliament on the efficacy of such schemes which subsequently made the authorities to stem the flow of money into such practices and thus, brought in financial responsibility among them. Further, as known that during election campaigns, political aspirants spend unprecedented amount of money to lure voters and it also leads to increase in the flow of black money, the authorities in India were forced to monitor the advertising campaign of these political parties and asked each party to submit the undertaking on not exceeding the prescribed financial limit on spending. As a result, the illicit flow of money stemmed to a great extent. Therefore, questioning the authorities is necessary in order to bring in transparency in a society.

Of course some may argue that questioning the authorities may often lead to protests and prevent the functioning of authorities such as during the recent outbreak in Hong Kong which locked the society for more than 10 weeks in a row. However, the proponents of this claim must understand that questioning leads to inciting the anger among public only when the society runs by dictators who want unquestionable obedience to authority. In a society where people values and their well-being are of utmost importance, questioning leads to healthy democracy and brings in possible equality.