The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority

Society use leaders as a tool for improving their living conditions. The prompt claims that majority of people should question authority in order to enhance their well-being. I mostly agree with this statement for two reasons, which I will explain below.

To begin with, in general, political conflicts happen because citizens do not question the leaders' ideas and strongly believe in them. To demonstrate, World War 2 started not only because Hitler himself, but also because larger part of German population trusted his immoral ideas. In addition, Cold War that, which intimidated all the world with nuclear weapons was started by the US and the USSR leaders. For this reason, society should not give credit to all authorities' ideas in order to evade political conflicts.

Secondly, leader alone should not take decisions about future of the nation, thus it would not be a democracy where all citizens have a right to vote. Admittedly, citizens can agree with every idea of the leader, but they should participate in government decisions and do not completely trust all authority. To clarify, the decision taken made by the President of Azerbaijan to conduct European Olympic Games in Baku did not match with the citizens’ idea about this event. Olympic Games led to a shortage in government capital, decrease in economic growth, as a result, standards of life also diminished. Therefore, society should question authority and participate in decision-making in order to gain more welfare and improve their well-being.

However, some may argue that true leader does everything due to improve nation’s life, even the most intelligent and visionary one does not represent all interests of his society. People who give complete credit to authority do so at their own peril.