What most human beings really want to attain is not knowledge, but certainty. Gaining real knowledge requires taking risks and keeping the mind open-but most people prefer to be reassured rather than to learn the complex and often unsettling truth about anything.

We are living in competitive world today where competition is present in each and every aspect of our lives. Starting from grades of students in school to which car we own, how big and luxurious house we own. Everything we have, we compare to our relatives, neighbors, friends etc. In this competitive world what most people want is certainty about their lives, their children’s education and their retirement. So I strongly agree with author’s claim that what most people want is not knowledge but certainty and reassurance. People are not ready to take risks but would prefer reassurance rather than learning complex and unsettling truth about anything.

When one goes to school, different subjects are taught to students. But do most of the students really want to learn new things or is it just to pass the examination? When we ask this question to ourselves, we get that even students from school wants certainty that they pass the examination and go to the next standard rather than exploring new things, new subjects. So if the person in its childhood wants the certainty and reassurance, the same behavior is most likely to continue even in adulthood.

Gaining real knowledge requires taking risks, keeping mind open and lots of patience. But one can see that people nowadays are becoming impatient as the lives are becoming easy. Everything has become so easy with the help of machines. So people are not ready to take risk and be patient. There are shortcuts for everything. People are not ready to devote their lives for complex and unsettling truth about anything, rather be reassured. For eg, as soon as a person becomes graduate, he wants a good job with decent salary, not ready to take risk to gain real knowledge at the cost of job. So, all the person wants is certainty and reassurance of life. No one is ready to think out of the box, go beyond what is being prescribed, break the trend, explore the new ideas and learn the complex and unsettling truth about anything.

We cannot deny that, in history great inventions and discoveries are made by great scientists. But what is the number of scientists compared to whole population, a very small percentage. Good example is, one can see the reducing number of research aspirants over time. A very small percentage of human being are really exploring new ideas, real knowledge and others just following those ideas and getting their lives certain. So, most of the people in today’s competitive world would rather want certainty and reassurance than real knowledge which comes at the cost of everything.