An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

IN the above argument author states that, an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A to combat vitamin A deficiency, among the people in impoverished nation of Tagus. Author also states that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this new variety of millet. The argument may sound logical and coherent but there are certain holes and assumptions that may lead to failure of the project.

First of all, an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet in response to vitamin A deficiency. Now, it is nowhere stated in the argument that how many people are deficient of vitamin A. Whether this deficiency is among a certain class of people or the whole nation. For eg, if certain class of people are facing such deficiency, then it would be rather helpful to know the reason behind such deficiency and work on that particular factor which lead to vitamin A deficiency. Also it should be noted that, whether people from Tagus are facing the deficiency in recent times or it is inherent from their ancestors. All these factors should be taken into consideration, before providing measures to combat deficiency.

Author further states that, the nation is impoverished. And since this new breed of millet will cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies. But nowhere in the argument it is given that how much subsidy will be given. Is it a very small amount or total cost is given as subsidy. For eg, if it cost way too much for the farmer, and only 20% is given as subsidy, then farmer is less likely to farm such breed.

Author assumes that millet is already a staple food in Tagus, so people will readily adopt new variety. But no evidence is given which states that the taste of new breed is same as the old one. If this new breed differs a lot from the old breed, the people are less likely to consume such food. Also it is stated that government should do everything to promote this new type of breed. But whether this new type of breed is sufficient to combat vitamin A deficiency is not clearly stated. If this new breed can cover only up to certain percentage of the vitamin A deficiency, then it is not really helpful.

To conclude, author should give further explanations for the assumptions made to make this argument valid. Also , the Organisation should make sure that there is total cooperation with government so that the techniques are properly administered to the farmers .