What really matters in the leadership of business and organizations is getting results, reaching benchmarks and achieving success

Leadership is an art and one who excels in it becomes unbeatable in all aspects and reach apex. But acquiring eminence in such an intrinsic skill is a tedious process as it involves dealing with management on one side and team members on the other. Many leaders get ambiguous in various circumstances as they get tangled in this process of meeting both the ends. As the consequence, there is a greater possibility that the leader might push the result oriented approach to his or her counterparts. This approach may make him an ideal employee in the eyes of ascending management but never to his subordinates. Though getting results, reaching bench marks and achieving success matters for an ideal employee it is not as such for an ideal leader.

Leader who is result oriented cannot extract the dedication, willingness to perform the task and above all team spirit from his colleagues without which achieving the targets are in the horizon. To bolster the connotation of this essay, it is required to draw example from iconic movie ‘Devil wears a prada’ in which Meryl steep plays a haughty boss who never cares about those working under her but wants to get her work done. It will be portrayed as her dedication is the significant reason for the fashion magazine she works for to top the charts always. Nevertheless, she cannot retain her competent assistant more than a year. The goal driven approach which fail to gain trust from the employees never creates a person with admiring leadership. An organisation lead by such a personality cannot stay at its apogee for a long time and is sure to witness its descendant.

What matters most is the leader who appreciates the journey and not result so that the employee gets motivated to do more the next time. In this unpredictable pandemic time, the most expected attribute of people manager is empathy. Only a person with empathy can gain the faith from his own kind and develop a sense of nearness making him more approachable. This can create a harmonious working environment which can automatically bring the expected results. The outstanding quality of such a team may not be visible immediately but will do so in course of time and they can rise again even if they reach the bottom.

It is the duty of top management to assess its managers depending on the realistic leadership qualities such as knowing his people and cultivating the loyalty. Otherwise the organisation might not witness a real leader who can bring his entire team to spotlight rather than himself.