Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of

Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related

illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber

of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of

life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the

proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts

In this argument, we are informed that workers in Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in Masonton, a larger city than Leeville. Also, a smaller proportion of people in Leeville are diagnosed with stress-related illness. The Leevillle chamber of commerce attributes these two factors to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in L. While I concede that such a lifestyle could result in a healthier physical and mental state, I maintain that other plausible explanations can also account for the facts presented in this argument. However, with only the current information, we are unable to decide which explanation is best. Nor is it utterly certain that one factor alone is responsible for the facts that presented in the argument.

To begin with,the chamber of commerce claims that L workers take fewer sick days due to better health. While I admit that this might be the case, I also argue that fewer sick days taken by the local workers do not spring from a healthier state. Absence of significant information contributes to the failure to rule out the possibility that workers would still attend work even if they were seriously ill. More specifically, the workers’ limited absence from work in L may not lie in their satisfactory health conditions, but could be ascribed to a strict or even harsh working disciplines. What is of equal possibility is that L’s workers themselves are reluctant to take sick days, which would be explained by their passion for job. In addition, it will be unfair to keep blind to the possible scenario wherein the smaller number of sick days than by workers could also derive from sparse population of local workers. All of the aforementioned explanations pose a great challenge upon, if not utterly reverse, the proposed one in the argument.

In addition, the author ascribes a lower proportion of diagnoses of illness in L to the relaxed pace of life. However, the proportion of diagnoses alone does not indicates a healthier state of people in L. The lower proportion could also be explained by unsatisfactory medical resources in L, both in terms of the number of hospitals and the capabilities of local doctors. If this is case, then the relaxed pace of life in L is less responsible, if at all, for local people health, since citizens could be suffering from a variety of diseases, which have been neither diagnosed nor treated.

Even if workers are indeed healthier than workers in M, it is doubtful that the relaxed pace of life is the only factor. Generally speaking, good physical and mental state stem from a variety of factors;appealing environment, pleasant social relationships and the health diets. While we cannot assert that these factors are present and lead directly to local people’s good health, we are confident that these explanation could rival the one proposed in the argument.

To summarize, although it is reasonable to believe that a relaxed lifestyle contributes to better health, there are several alternative explanations that could be challenge the author’s one and can also plausible account for the fact presented in the argument. However, it is unreasonable to draw hasty conclusions about which explanation is best until further examination concerning L town is performed.