Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

We learn about history so that one cannot repeat the mistakes same as before. Ignoring the past can be considered as one step towards the failure. The statement considers that today knowledge about the past does not help people while taking important decisions. In my opinion, the statement cannot be validated enough for a few reasons.

Firstly, knowing about past may not be that much helpful as today we are dealing with a new set of problems in a different era but any generation or any era cannot avoid the basic life of a person. Of course, the lifestyle has changed, still people have to take their own decisions and have to work hard for what they want to achieve. So, in terms of taking important decisions there is no harm in knowing about the past. For instance, if the world was unaware of the failed experiments our scientists have performed to reach to a solution, there might be a possibility that today's or even future generation's scientists might be working on the similar concept without knowing about their past. The question might occur that they have the advanced equipment than the past scientists, but still the chemical element or the space theory will be the same. The way of looking or considering a problem might change but the problem stays the same.

Secondly, there are times we can consider that knowing about past isn't that much important for taking present decisions. For instance, it is not important to know about the past before joining a school but it is important to know about the past of the school. As joining a prestigious school can affect a student's life in a way the home schooling cannot. Basically, one needs to be aware of what they are getting into before taking part in any activity and should have known about the previous results to avoid the failures in the similar way as before. This gives a person better understanding and a step closer to the success.

Thirdly, the knowledge about past provides a solid platform to a person. Knowing about the past means being familiar with the experiences of different people and knowing about their good and bad decisions. And understand how one bad decision can cause a blunder or can diminish an entire city in amount of time. One of the best examples of profit of knowing about the past for making present decisions is today's politics between different countries. Today countries like USA, China, South Korea are trying to avoid the chances of World War 3 as much as possible because everyone is aware of the results of World War2 which clearly shows that there is no victory of any country in the war.

Concluding my point, it is not disastrous if somebody is unaware of the past but it can be considered as one's weakness. The knowledge about past is used to avoid the repetition of the mistakes done in the history to avoid the same sufferings in future and hence I disagree with the statement.