Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals have been imminent in the society from times immemorial. A sandal represents any illegitimate or unethical behavior or events that are unacceptable to the people of the society. Scandals also represent the reality of something or someone to public in democratic country. Now a day’s mass media is most powerful weapon in some countries; So many scandals come in light due to mass media and the reality get Ubiquitous. I am totally agreed with the statement that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problem in ways that no reformer ever could. I am representing some arguments to favor the statement.

Firstly, scandals are eye opener for the public and also bring attention towards the flaws of policies and superstitious beliefs. In India recently the Ram Rahim Baba's scandal comes in front of public and everyone amazed with his did which loose the superstitious believe of public. There are so many reformers already worked to highlights the reality but it was not effective, which happened in few days due to mass media and people supervised with the news of scandal. Similarly in the 1970s the Watergate scandal of the US leads to the resignation of the president Richard Nixon.

Secondly, In India government launched a scheme to distribute food grain to people living below poverty line (BPL) but there was a food grain scam in the state of UP (2002-2010) found in which food grain worth 35,000 crores was sold in open market. These scandal gave information about the political party which did the scam and people of UP got cautious about in next election which leader will be selected.

Thirdly, the scandals represent the flawless of the scheme or we can say the personal benefit of a particular group of society. The coal-gate scam where in coal blocks meant for auctioning were allocated to influential people signifies how corruption has strongly gnawed into the very assets of the social system. In any democratic country government work for benefits of the people but these scandals give real face of government.

Conclusively, scandals play a pivotal role in addressing certain significant issues of the society. It is the responsibility of the society to bring out the best of such situations so that the society grows stronger.