Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Omega University is concern about student evaluation of professors because the students have not been as successful at getting jobs as have near university graduate students. The students are evaluating the professor that’s why the professor grades them good to improve their evaluation. But I am not agreeing with it because getting jobs not only depends on the grade points or professor. There is so many other points also behind given argument.

Moreover, the grade points have raised by 30 percent is also indicating the quality of students. If we pay attention on the average IQ level in schools now and fifteen years ago than we find the difference as clearly mentioned in psychological researches. There are personal difference may be the reason for increase in grades. Whereas only IQ is not important to clear the job interview, communication skills, emotional quotient, social skills and self-awareness also play an important role. So may be because of other reasons students have not been getting jobs.

Additionally, the data shown in the argument is average value of grade which is compared with fifteen year ago data. When we compare values of now to fifteen years ago than the rise is normal because it is also depends on the resources. Fifteen year ago the resources were not enough as it now and resources may be the major reason for the rise in grades. The students collect the information from so many resources and work hard for exams. As the resources increased the competition also growing rapidly and to face these neck to neck competition the students are not ready. That’s why they have not been getting good jobs in comparison of other university graduates.

However, it is human tendency that we butter the person who is beneficial for us. The professors are trying to make students happy to get positive evaluation but the final decision of the university cannot be based on the student’s feedback. The professors are intellectual people and they understand how to manage everything. If a professor is giving good grades to students for his own benefit than we cannot assume that all professors are same. The student evaluation of professor is one of the good technique to improve the academic services of the begin.

Finally, to secure better jobs by students Omega University should evaluate the system and work on students overall development. As well as the university has to test the students performances through demo interview sessions.